Puck Plays By Dan Perry-Plant

Top British forward Colin Shields has left the Sheffield Steelers this week citing personal issues for leaving the Yorkshire club.

Shields joined the Steelers from French side Morzine-Avoriaz, but the Belfast born player has struggled to find his form in the league this season, despite being the Steelers second top scorer.

The entire elite league will be looking to snap up the hot shot winger as the Christmas period approaches but he is in no rush to make a decision on his future after activating the release clause in his contract.

“I didn’t feel myself and happy because it has never really worked out for me.
“That is nothing against anybody; I am not pointing the finger, I just felt the time was right to move on and cut the ties.

“There weren’t any issues in the dressing room or with the city; it is just one of those things.

“It is hard to describe; it wasn’t working and I didn’t want to drag it on and be a distraction for a team involved in a title hunt. I never settled and found my place in the team,” he said.

Steelers had hoped for 30 goals a season from Shields and in fact he was on his way to that.
In 30 games, he scored 14 +16: a point a game.

“I feel as if I had a good stretch to begin with and then a dip came on strong and then everyone in the side was struggling to score,” he said.

“But I was the team’s second top scorer so I can’t have been that bad?”

“I am disappointed it has come to this and have no plans at the moment.

“But I have no regrets coming to Steelers; I came with the greatest of intentions but just couldn’t find my rhythm. I’m not in a rush but there are limited jobs available for British guys of a certain level and it is late in the season, but after the New Year I’ll start to look around.”

Any British club however will have to seek permission from the Steelers before they can sign the British forward, and this could lead to some possible trade proposals, with Marc Peacock of the Belfast Giants a possible target of the Steelers as they look to bolster their squad.

Belfast Giants have refused to comment on speculation.

The Steelers entertain the Dundee Stars Saturday at the Sheffield Arena as they look to get back to championship form.

The Stars feature forward Sami Ryhanen who scored a hat trick against the Steelers last time out.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

