Wiggins Takes Crown

Bradley Wiggins became the second cyclist in succession to take the Sports Personality of the Year award last night in a packed Excel Arena.

The Tour de France and Olympic Champion received more votes on the night than the other 11 contenders and caps off a marvelous year for the sporting personality.

Within a 30 day period, Wiggins had lead his Team Sky team to the title in France, considered the hardest race in the world, before he took Olympic time trial gold ten days after leaving Europe.

Golden girl Jessica Ennis took second place, after she broke the heptathlon world record and later went on to win Olympic gold in the event in London.

Third place went to tennis ace Andy Murray, who was ‘presented’ his award by friend Lennox Lewis in a comedy moment on the night in a Miami hotel.

Some other winners on the night included Dave Brailsford for Coach of the Year, Team GB for Team of the Year and Usain Bolt for Overseas Personality of the Year.

You can watch the whole event again on the BBC iplayer service.


Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: