Cue Action – Ding Wins in Galway – By Will Vallely

Ding Junhui produced a superb comeback to claim the Dafabet Players Tour Championship Grand Finals in Galway.

The Chinese sensation was trailing 3-0 against Aussie Neil Robertson but reeled of four frames on the bounce to claim the title.

The final was played to a very high standard with both players scoring well. There were breaks of 130, 88, 80, 72 and 70.

However the most impressive break of the match was Ding’s break of 98 in the final frame. He showed great composure and nerves of steel to make the break which secured him the title

This is Ding’s sixth ranking event victory of his career so far, and his first since the Welsh Open last year. He will in no doubt be looking to take his impressive form to the upcoming World Championship’s where is has rarely showed his potential.

After his win Ding said: “I have taken my chances, made big breaks and fought back in matches. I have more experience now and I know I can win close matches with just one chance. It’s all about thinking and keeping my concentration.”

He went on to say: “I have been working hard all year. I might have a few tournaments when I don’t play well and have less energy, but I know I can come back strong.”

Ding looked in great form throughout the tournament and made eight centuries over the event including an impressive 147 in his quarter final tie with recent ranking event winner Mark Allen.

Ding has now made five maximum breaks which makes him the fourth best 147 producer in history. Only Ronnie O’Sullivan, Stephen Hendry and John Higgins have made more.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

