Moto GP is back

Britain’s superstar rider Cal Crutchlow was fastest in the final day of pre-season testing at Jerez.

The Tech 3 Yamaha driver finished ahead of both Yamaha riders, champion Jorge Lorenzo and the greatest driver of them all in Valentino Rossi.

The rider told BBC Sport in an interview after testing that this result sets him up well for the season.

He said: “It is very satisfying to finish with the fastest time. It shows what a really good job I did and what a great job my team did too.

“It is a shame we didn’t get the chance to get in a lot more dry laps, but I have been very fast and consistent and that gives me a lot of confidence for when we return to Jerez.

“The rain meant the track wasn’t in a great condition in the last two hours and I felt I could have definitely gone faster if there was more grip available. But it is the same for everybody and we came out on top, so that’s positive.

“It has been a positive pre-season and I think I have shown I have made another big improvement for this year.

“This result gives me a lot of confidence going to Qatar but my goal will be to finish in the top six and get some early momentum like I did last season.”

Crutchlow appears to be the closest challenger to Rossi and Lorenzo with the riders lining up on April 7th.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

