O’Sullivan to Officially Quit

Ronnie O’Sullivan has officially announced that this World Championship appearance was all about money.

In an interview with Sky Sports, the current World Champion said he had no desire to keep going after this tournament as he does not enjoy the sport anymore.

He said: “It’s nice to be in the semi-finals but I didn’t really miss snooker, but I missed having something to do and I was struggling for a bit of money.

“I’ll be honest, I still owe the school money for my children’s school fees, I haven’t paid the last two or three terms. I didn’t know what was going to happen here but I’ve made a little bit of money now so I can go and pay the school fees now for the next two years.

“But really I don’t think snooker is for me. This could be my last proper major event. As far as putting my heart and soul into snooker, I don’t think that’s what I want to do anymore but I had to give it a go. I needed some money quick.

“I have signed a contract with my sponsor to play in 10 events so I’ll play in those.”

O’Sullivan admitted this startling revelation after he cruised through to a mouthwatering tie against Judd Trump in the semi-finals of this years championship.

For more views on the tournament , check out next weeks Cue Action by Will Vallely.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

